The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Small Build with pictures and Question about placement and tuning of resonators
Old 30th December 2007
Gear Nut

Small Build with pictures and Question about placement and tuning of resonators

Hi there,
It's really great to see a construction and acoustics forum up on here at last.

Good call

I thought I’d post a description and some pic.s of my little studio here, this is a little room with a booth I’ve designed and built with a machine room, little vocal booth and a control room. Any comments suggestions would be welcome. This is my 3rd build, I did my time in an big studio about going freelance about 8 years ago, and Ibuilt a room to work out of with my PT rig, you know the story… I’m pushing 18 years in the studio game so I guess I’m a pro! And my old man used to do insallation wiring and stuff in radio and television studios years ago apart from that I have no proper training in studio design or acoustics…

The story so far is, we moved out of here…

[IMG][/IMG]

We had landlord problems and had to move out of out original studio, we needed to get somewhere fast and start working again, even if it’s only for the relatively short term. If the gear’s not turned on then it’s not paying it’s way. We are intending in using the studio here for mixing, some overdubbing and as a classroom for small workshops for some training courses we do at the studio.

However we managed to renew our lease in the old place, so we are going to rent the old place out to a few bands to practice in for a while and keep working in the new studio. Till we get back in business again. Then it would be nice to renovate the old place and move back in to a really nice studio.

To this end I have a 56 channel AMEK Classic standing by to be commissioned.
But that’s another story.