The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Jcoop Basement Build
Old 18th October 2019
Jcoop Basement Build

Hey all,

My build is not exceptional but, I've used gearslutz as a point of reference for over a decade so, I feel obliged to give back. Hopefully, even it just 1 person can draw some information from my build, it'll be worth it.

I'd like to start off by thanking Jason Foi, Soundman2020, Starlight, and bert stoltenborg for helping answer some preliminary questions before I started. And a secondary/passive thanks to Rod Gervais, John Brandt, avare, and all the regular contributors to this forum. Your knowledge and discussions have been an invaluable resource.

I'm an audio engineer at heart. But, like many gearslutz, I have my hand in a lot of aspects of audio, music, and media. I'm going to tell you right now, I have no intention of recording drums in this room It's primary function is a mix suite with some instrument, vocal, and foley recording here and there.

My primary goal is to be able to monitor at a reasonable level without disturbing the rest of the house - particularly sleeping children. Secondary goals are minimizing footfall overhead and having a balanced sounding room.

After reading all the usual recommended publications I planned for an optimal room dimension and design. Then I started building.... lol... So, theoretical and practical don't always match up...

The interior of the room is approx 16.5'long 11'wide' 7ish'high - with a 3' jog in at the back. I've gone for a double wall construction with 2 layers of 5/8" type X drywall on the outside of each wall with R-12 fiber-glass in the studs. Most of the walls are separated with a 1" gap. The wall behind where my desk will go has a wider gap (7-8"?) just because of where the joists are located for anchoring the walls - which worked out because now I have a place to run ventilation. Here are some pics of where I'm at now... You'll see some pics of the products I've used. I'll follow up on the reasoning.