The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Reconfigured bedroom/mixing room so people don't have to sit on my bed anymore!
Old 10th June 2019
Here for the gear

Reconfigured bedroom/mixing room so people don't have to sit on my bed anymore!

So I'm not a professional audio engineer. At least, I have no real training other than doing this myself and watching, listening to, talking with engineers I've been in studios with and have become friends with. But I have recorded my band's albums and we have a small licensing/publishing contract and have gotten our tunes on TV/internet/ads/etc, which is pretty cool!

I have a 2 bedroom house and use one bedroom as a recording space, with the walk-in closet set up as a vocal/amp/acoustic booth. I track drums in my living room, which is really just one big room that has the kitchen and rest of house access so it sounds pretty decent. I mix and track some of my own vocals and acoustic in the other bedroom, which I sleep in. This is the third home I've lived in over the last 15 years or so I've been recording myself and my band and my friends' bands and even other bands. All those other times I've kept my mixing room as my bedroom. Most of those times we've recorded in the same room, or down the hall. Having doors separate me and the sound became a thing maybe 7 years ago, which has been nice. And all those other places, folks have had to sit on my bed behind me, in addition to chairs I'd drag in the room.

Well I wanted this place to be different! So I took my 12'x16'x8' bedroom and moved my bed into the corner, and set up a row of chairs and tables behind my mixing chair. Today I finally got my sound panels screwed into the studs in the wall instead of leaning against the wall and precariously sitting on end tables. It feels good to have a 'real' space for people to come and sit while recording and listening to their stuff!