The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Turning my living room into a studio
Old 5th May 2018
Gear Maniac

Turning my living room into a studio

Hello fellow Slutz!
I've been in the process of turning my living room into a studio for about 10 months now. I have no carpentry experience (well at least before I started this project) so it has taken a lot of time but I'm slowly getting there. I've been planning on starting this thread for a long time but haven't really got around to do it. Well now it's time!

My plan with this room is to have a multipurpose room which I can use as a living room and hang out with friends, watch movies and such but also use as a studio for writing songs, mix and master.

The room is 4,25 x 4,35 x 2,52 meters or 13'11" x 14'3" x 8'3" so it's almost square.

Frequency response in the bass region:

Waterfall: (notice the scale, 1800 ms!)

I've come in contact with an acoustician who's been really helpful with this project and I'm so thankful for that! It's really a dream come true to have all that knowledge poured on to my project and I can't thank him enough for it!

Ok let's get started!
The first thing to do was to take care of the horizontal standing waves. They are super strong since the room is almost square. The plan was to cover the back wall with a 60 cm thick absorber. (40 cm of rockwool plus a 20 cm airgap) (1'4" of rockwool, 8" of air) Then some slats on front.

I, with my limited acoustical knowledge, first though of making it 30 cm thick but according to the acoustician 60 cm would be better and would take care of the standing wave a lot better. I didn't want to lose that much space though so I instead built 2 gobos 40 cm thick that made up the middle of the wall. Then I could push them into the wall when needing more space and then pull them out to create the airgap and thickness needed to absorb the standing wave when mixing or listening to music.