The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Hippocratic Mastering - MyRoom Acoustics (Boggy) build
Old 20th May 2016
Hippocratic Mastering - MyRoom Acoustics (Boggy) build

Hi all,

First of all, sorry for the novella below. I'll try and keep further posts more succinct.

I've been mastering full time for about four years now, and part time before that. I previously worked in the attic room of our terraced house in Leeds, UK. It was reasonably well treated with a combination of homemade panels and "brute force" packs of rockwool stacked all over (a LOT of rockwool). I added more treatment over time and my room got better and better, particularly after I bought a measurement mic and learned to use Room EQ Wizard properly.

The issue I then had was that, although I had a very accurate space, it was very difficult to work in such an environment for along periods of time. The human brain needs cues to tell it it's in a room, and not some artificial space, and without these cues the auditory system gets stressed - not a pleasant feeling. Thus the MyRoom design of Bogic Petrovic (Boggy on Gearslutz) really appealed to me - all the control of a "dead" room with none of the nasty side effects.

I contacted Boggy in early January '15. He advised on requirements for a possible new room and my long suffering wife and I began the long, stressful and boring quest to sell our old house and find a new one.

We finally moved in almost a year later: December 2015. We found a place in nearby Wakefield that is as close to perfect as it's possible to get within our budget. As well as a 3 bedroom semi detached house with a decent sized garden (essential for the afformentioned long-suffering wife) there was a very large bungalow, completely separate to the main building. Jackpot!