The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Book recommendations on overcoming my mental/emotional blocks with music
Old 24th March 2020
Book recommendations on overcoming my mental/emotional blocks with music

hey GS,

thanks for taking the time to read this. I'll try to keep it short as I can. I'm 32 years old, I've been 'playing' guitar since I was 12. Around the age of the 13, I remember one time thinking 'you know what, I could do this, as a career.'

the...problem? was that I grew up in a family environment with tons of academic pressure, and i was intelligent as well, which also (and unfortunately) covered deep seated issues of anxiety. there was no way i could have pursued short of running from home (dead serious), and i just wasn't confident in myself enough to do such a thing.

around the age of 17, my dad passed, and i just never really recovered from it until the past few years. i did a degree in psychology, then went into IT in my 20s. many many times i thought about doing a music degree, but i FEARED being broke, etc etc. 24/7 i would think about music in class, analyze any and every single song on the radio (deconstruct), now ive come to accept, it is part of who i am.

IT was a ticket out of the house and i thought 'okay ill have enough $$$ to pursue this more seriously' because the reality was i was just broke all the time, had no space to record, and my laptops would always crash and i'd lose ****. i changed cities (6 years ago), and have been living on my own which has been immensely helpful.

i would daydream about being musician, i played in some bands, but could never find motivated enough musicians or people that saw things eye to eye.

i didnt work on my craft enough, i didnt know my purpose. now, i feel i know my purpose (which sounds weird saying) but its to be a musician and release songs in any/every way possible, it has to happen.