The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
School Tech Room
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

School Tech Room

Hi there,

I wonder if anyone can help me out with this problem or help me brainstorm a better solution?

Background:

I work in a school and in our iMac suite (where we use Logic and Garageband) we were using a 3.5mm Jack pair of generic computer speakers out of the iMac's headphone socket, then running a splitter from the speakers headphone socket to two pairs of headphones. This allowed the students to work on their pieces and unplug the headphones to play it to the whole class. The issue with this is, the are always breakages due to things being constantly unplugged.

We have now kitted each iMac out with Behringer UMC22s in an attempt to remove the speakers and stop the students constantly unplugging and moving connections around.

The Issue:

The issue now is that the students can no longer play their work to the class without going into the settings and changing the audio outputs back to built in.

Potential Solution 1:

The UMC22 has L and R 1/4"Jack outputs, so we thought we could run a instrument cable out of the back of each of the interfaces and into a patch bay at the teachers desk, where the teacher can patch in a specific computer to either listen or play out loud.

Issues:

32x Instrument cables running around the classroom (16x Nodes in stereo). Unless someone is able to suggest a different way of wiring it?

Potential Solution 2:

There is currently cable trunking that carries Cat5 around the room. (I'm no expert in cabling) Would it be possible to use a converter or wire in an audio connector to transmit audio through Cat5? Then run out to a patch bay on the teachers end.