The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
What's the current state of the art for Linux DAWs?
Old 10th July 2012
restpause 🎙️
What's the current state of the art for Linux DAWs?

I am wondering what, in your opinions and best educated guesses, is the state of the art for Linux DAWs?

By "state of the art", I mean:

-practical
-sustainable
-easy to configure
-supported
-compatible with modern tools and procedures for music-making and editing

Any ideas? I'm somewhat new to Linux, but not entirely.
I'm wondering which modern distros might be a good place to start for setting up two DAWs:

1) old, weak computer that is still sturdy and useful
2) less-old reasonably strong computer that is still sturdy and useful

I do electronic music with VST(i)'s in a highly customized Windows XP these days. My old, weak computer isn't strong enough for running Ubuntu and some of the music distros I found yet are just too old and incompatible. The type of DAW's I currently use are: MultitrackStudio Pro Plus, Cockos Reaper v4.x, FL Studio 10, and a bunch of portable freewares for utilities and desktop customizations.

It would be nice if something existed that was as easy to run as Puppy Linux 5.x, as sophisticated and stable and aesthetically/pragmatically clean as CentOS, and smooth enough to work with typical prosumer PCI soundcards and USB MIDI gear.

If I could still run VST(i)'s and use some Windows DAW's that would be awesome!

Does this exist yet?
Old 10th July 2012
Lives for gear

No
Old 10th July 2012
Tui
Gear Guru

Linux > Audio > Yawn.
Old 10th July 2012
restpause 🎙️
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tui View Post
Linux > Audio > Yawn.
is that a "Yawn, it's too easy" or a "Yawn, it's too hard" answer?
Old 11th July 2012
Gear Addict

Three words: BitWig.
Old 11th July 2012
Tui
Gear Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonemaker View Post
is that a "Yawn, it's too easy" or a "Yawn, it's too hard" answer?