The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Leaving Samplitude for??????
Old 25th November 2017
Deleted b5658d5
Leaving Samplitude for??????

I am done with Scamplitude and looking for advice on another DAW. I've been using Scamplitude for about 3 years and have had nothing but problems with this glitchy buggy DAW. From features not working at all to constant crashes and losing hours of work because it won't save properly. I've tried the Magix user forum and endless searches to no avail. I've been looking at Studio One or Cubase. I only record live instruments, I don't do any sampling or vsti's. Any thoughts? Suggestions?

Old 26th November 2017
Lives for gear

Must be your computer? Or some hardware on it..?
I work with Sam/Seq for more than a decade now, never had any problems and my computer is quite old...

Studio One and Cubase are nice DAWs, Cubase has no object-fx, if this is an issue... Maybe try Reaper?
Old 26th November 2017
Lives for gear

If you only record live instruments, check out Ardour and Harrison Mixbus. Mixbus essentially runs on Ardour's infrastructure but provides a more sophisticated mixing interface, a different digital audio engine, and more built-in plugins. But Ardour is simpler. Both are multi-platform (windows, osx, and linux), although you'd probably have the best luck with OSX or Linux, especially if you use Ardour.
Old 26th November 2017
Lives for gear

I can second a recommendation for MixBus. This past year I changed from Logic Pro, kind of as a plan to migrate over to Linux (MixBus licenses are valid for Mac & Linux & Win). But maybe I'll stick with OS X longer than I planned even if I also have MixBus running on a test machine running Ubuntu Studio.

I was lucky in my switch too because I use an SSD and so moved to OS X High Sierra (to use APFS for the SSD) and yet don't have the problems others experience with Logic because I am running MixBus.