The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Will a external sound card fix my daw/computer cpu? Virtual Instrument Plugins
Old 6th August 2014
Here for the gear

Will a external sound card fix my daw/computer cpu?

Hey guys i´m new at this forum som im sorry if there is a similar thread to this one but i did some searching and i couldn´t find any..

Problem:
I´ve got a problem when i´m making music in my daw= FL Studio, when i try working on my bigger projects they often contain many layers of sylenth1 Spire and massive + many effects on the mixer so the audio starts crackling so it´s completely impossible to continue working.
I´m using the ASIO drivers and have turned all settings so it will make it easy for my laptop but nothing seems to work..

Question: Will a external sound card make it work or do i have to buy a new (better) Laptop?

Im a beginner at this so please give som advice which laptop or sound card i should buy if thats the problem..

Sorry for bad english and i´m sorry if I placed the thread wrong! Thankfull for answers
Old 6th August 2014
It sounds like you are simply exceeding the computing power of your CPU with "...layers of sylenth1 Spire and massive + many effects ".

Noises such as "crackling", pops, clicks, and drop-outs are caused when the CPU and/or hard-drive can't keep up with processing demands, and/or there are unnecessary background tasks using up CPU cycles and memory that slow down audio processing. First try cleaning up your system: No unnecessary applications running, no internet access, no bluetooth, no background tasks. That might help a little. You may be able to lower your processing loads by doing some processing and rendering the track(s) so that the processing can be done in "stages" and not all at once, reducing the computing load.