The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Please Advise on Persistent Crackling Sound Condenser Microphones
Old 31st July 2014
Here for the gear

Please Advise on Persistent Crackling Sound

Hello,
I am new to digital music and I am unable to fix a crackling in my DAW. I would sincerely appreciate any help anyone could give diagnosing this problem. I'm using LMMS 1.0 and a Realtek built in soundcard on a 64 bit Windows 7 laptop. Here is what I have tried so far:

1.) First, I turned off system sounds, turned power usage to high performance, turned HQ mode in the DAW on and off. None of that seems to have any effect.

2.) I don't believe it is a single instrument or plug-in because it happens with the Vestige plug-in playing a "thunder" instrument, another Vestige running "rain", an AudioFile plugin playing an on board "explosion.ds" sample and another 2 Audiofiles with high and low pitch .wavs of bullfrogs. I have tried each of these tracks singly (with "solo" selected so the others are muted, although still being processed) and of course everything together. It has happened in all of these circumstances, although it was easier to provoke with Vestige than AudioFile. That could bebecause of the static-y nature of thunder and rain. Although it has happened in all of these circumstances, it does not happen every time.