The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Panning Pads/Strings Virtual Instrument Plugins
Old 26th July 2014
Gear Nut

Panning Pads/Strings

I realize everything depends, but I've come across a number of posts where people say that pads might typically be stereo panned hard left and right. Maybe applying a short delay to one side depending on the type of sound you're after.

My question is, if I have a pad sound recorded in stereo so that the left & right channels contain different information, would I duplicate the track - then pan one hard left and one hard right? Or should the pan be tracked mono and then duplicated and panned hard left hard right.. ?

I'd imagine panning is one of the easier parts of a mix for a lot of people but for me it's a bit vague not only because I'm somewhat new to mixing but because I write mainly electronic music where there seem to be little to no guidelines to follow.

I appreciate any feedback/tips.
Old 26th July 2014
Lives for gear

I think you are referring to people wanting pads to be "extra" wide, even if they are stereo to begin with... In order to do that, there are lots of plugs ins, but an easy trick to apply is called the hauss effect, where you put, say a simple stereo delay on the track, and make the 2 different sides, left and right, have perhaps a 1ms or 2ms (more if you want wider) difference, and you will hear the track widen in your mix.... of course you lose a little of the middle in the process, but can make a track "pop"....
Old 27th July 2014
Lives for gear
try each way and see if it sounds different....youve only got so much soundspace ti work with..youre always dealing with a tradeoff between amplitude and frequency
Old 29th July 2014
Gear Nut