The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Condenser Mic Humm
Old 2nd March 2014
Here for the gear

Condenser Mic Humm

Hi all,
Complete newbie to home recording here (weeks), first post so please be gentle. Not sure whether to post here at newbies or in DAW Forum.

I have a decent laptop, running Cubase 7 essentials, to Scarlett 2i2 interface and Truth B1031A monitors. Managed to put a couple of simple midi tracks down and now experimenting with vocals. Got 2 mics 1 dynamic, 1 condenser.
Dynamic mic is fine, problem is background hum in condenser mic. There is no hum in the dynamic so it's coming up the 48v power supply to the condenser mic from the audio interface. It's either being generated by the audio interface or originating from the laptap which USB connects and powers the audio interface. I think its from the laptop as the noise changes and decreases slightly when I unplug the laptop and just run on batteries.
Is there a USB piece of gear I can place between the laptop connection and Audio interface to clean up the hum somehow?
Cheers,

Last edited by goosecat; 2nd March 2014 at 01:45 PM.. Reason: newbie
Old 2nd March 2014
Need more details:

What is the brand and model condenser mic which has the hum problem?

Have you tried a different mic cable on the condenser mic? If it's a conventional condenser connected with a known-good, balanced XLR/XLR cable there is little possibility of ground loop hum coming from your laptop. Did you try the cable you used on your dynamic mic?

Have you tried another condenser mic?

What gain setting are you using relative to the dynamic mic?