The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
[What to buy] Akai MPK Mini or Novation Launchkey Mini?
Old 5th November 2013
Here for the gear

[What to buy] Akai MPK Mini or Novation Launchkey Mini?

Hi guys,

I'm a complete beginner but I would like to start producing music on my computer. I've narrowed down my choices for a MIDI controller to:

a) Akai MPK Mini

b) Novation Launchkey Mini

It needs to be small and light as I'll be travelling over the holidays, which is when I intend on learning how to use it. My only consideration is the hardware itself, not the bundled software etc.

Which one would you recommend? I'm happy to listen to any other recommendations at this price point too.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks! :D
Old 5th November 2013
Here for the gear

Nice Keyboards!
I just moved to Japan, so all my stuff is in Norway still. I just bought myself a Korg Microkey. And I'm pretty happy With it. But I'd love the Controllers on the ones you are thinking about.

I think that unless you really need to Connect it to an iPad, i'd go for the Akai MPK Mini. It just seems better, and also it's specified that you only need Power from the USB. It's a pain to have to drag an adapter around. Other than that, they both seem pretty similar.

-Ari
Old 5th November 2013
Here for the gear

Oh. And the AKAI one has a sustain button. That could actually come in handy from time to time. And there is more drumpads on the Novation, but I highly doubt you'll need 16(!) drumpads. But that's somethig you'll decide on.
Old 5th November 2013
Lives for gear

Just tried both 2 weeks ago and was planning to buy the Akai, 'cause I didn't know that the Launchkey Mini exists. I went away with the Novation.