The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
soundtracs megas with saffire 56 and (maybe) behringer ada8000
Old 23rd October 2013
Here for the gear

analogue mixer to daw connection help

Hi gear slutterz, I am a noob on here looking for quite a bit of info, please help.
I am a blues based guitarist and i have been mixing itb in cubase using a saffire 56 for my interface duties. I have now decided to add some classic warmth via a soundtracs megas studio desk, 32/24. I want to bring as many channels as possible back through the desk for summing and mixdown. I know my s56 has max 10 outputs and i'm thinking to add the behringer ada8000(just for outputs) to add 8 more outs to the desk. Here begins the multitude of questions!
1) do i have to connect world clock as well as adat on the ada8000 for it to work with the s56?
2) do i connect the 56 and ada8000 into the desk via the input xlr's or the tape returns for mixdown?
3) or, shall i bring the 'tape' returns from the ada and the 56 back into the main inputs or straight to the group inserts?
4) The megas comes with the edac cables, where will these connect to?
5) Shall i monitor through the desk or through the 56?
I know this is a lot to ask of you all but any shred of advice on any of it would be greatly appreciated. look forward to hearing from you.

Last edited by stent; 23rd October 2013 at 03:53 AM.. Reason: title wrong
Old 24th October 2013
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by stent View Post
Hi gear slutterz, I am a noob on here looking for quite a bit of info, please help.