The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Pro Tools CRAZY PROBLEM. Pro's please help!!!
Old 22nd October 2013
Here for the gear

Pro Tools CRAZY PROBLEM. Pro's please help!!!

Full disclosure: I'm a newb to Pro Tools. I have been a paid guitar player for 10 years, and got asked to record and mix an orchestra concert. I recorded 64 channels into two Digidesign Pre's, 5 192's, and 6 Yamaha pre's, using a Mac Pro with three hard drives and a D-Control console. I have verified that everything is set up correctly and I've had help from a skilled engineer.

Here's my problem: After coming back and opening the session, I can see waveforms of all of my clips, but my meters show no output. While I know there is audio there, the clips will not play. I'm at a loss as to what went wrong, it may a filing issue, but I'd love some help making this work...thanks.
Old 22nd October 2013
Here for the gear

Check your I/O settings. Sometimes when switching between sessions it will change (if you've brought in a session from somewhere else for example). It might say 'Output 1-2' or something similar but then in the actual I/O it's looking for hardware that is not there. Also check Playback Engine.
Old 22nd October 2013
Here for the gear

Thanks for the suggestion. Still no dice—any more suggestions?
Old 22nd October 2013
Gear Addict

Yeah go into the I/O, delete all of the paths and default it. That worked when taking sessions off our D-Control.
Old 22nd October 2013
Here for the gear

Could you give more information?
Are the tracks greyed out?
What's your setup like?
Old 22nd October 2013
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSPDiva View Post
Yeah go into the I/O, delete all of the paths and default it. That worked when taking sessions off our D-Control.
+1
Old 22nd October 2013
Gear Addict

Any luck?
Old 22nd October 2013
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSPDiva View Post