The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Where should I begin with learning mixing?
Old 19th October 2013
Here for the gear

Where should I begin with learning mixing?

I've been doing everything by ear for the last 6 or 7 years I've been doing this, I'm just now realizing that a lot of the things that I've been doing may not be what's right and it's not getting the results that I desire. That's including compressors, equalizers, reverb, stereo panning, expanders etc. Where is the best place to start learning how to properly use all of these devices? This is all software based, but I'm just curious.

I'm actually kind of embarrassed that I have no real technical prowess or know how when speaking with friends that have taken years of Audio Tech courses.
Old 19th October 2013
start asking questions in this thread. thats a good starting point.
Old 19th October 2013
Gear Head

Buy your friends dinner and beers and pick their brains. Ask them if you can sit in on a mix session. Ask a lot questions.

Books and online articles help too.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC
Old 19th October 2013
Here for the gear

Every time I look up an EQ'ing tutorial, they seem to know where to cut off certain signals that would lead to other noises being more prominent in the mix, such as bringing a snare more upfront or melting backup vocals into the background, how do people know where to mix these signals at on an EQ? And another question I've had a lot! How do people get an electric bass to sound so clean in a mix? I am using a lot of starter gear for the interface and it seems like it always sounds trashy, muddled and disgusting every time I record with it, never clear, never clean or smooth!
Old 19th October 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by wraithsnow View Post