The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Picking Monitors
Old 18th October 2013
Here for the gear

Picking Monitors

Hi,

I'm not an audio engineer. In fact I'm just looking for better speakers. I figured it's worth it to post a thread here though because I would think you guys know these things better than most people.

I'm using Logitech z2300 right now. That's a $100, 2.1 system. It's not that amazing. I am thinking about upgrading to two Krk Rokit 5 G1s. The reason for the upgrade is because I recently did an impulse buy where I went from integrated onboard audio to a better sound card, Asus Xonar STX. The reason why I picked the Rokit5s is because it's cheap, good quality for the money, and I can get two of them for $150 flat (no tax, shipping, etc). That's $75 each. I think Krk Rokit5 G2 represents a decent value at $240 (I have to factor in tax and shipping) for both speakers. The g1s I can get for like 40% less cost.

Sound isn't my profession. I'm just a normal person on my desktop that games and listens to music. While some higher end speakers from Yamaha or something might deliver audio difference I can actually hear, I'm not sure if that's really worth it for my usage and my wallet.

Do you think getting those two Rokit5 G1s for $150 is a good idea? I understand in this professional world those speakers are not top class but for many regular folks, MY speakers are great, LOL. Unless there is some speaker set I've overlooked?

The Asus Xonar STX has two inputs for RCA cables. No XLR. If I get the Rokit and plug them straight into my sound card I have nowhere to plug in my subwoofer. Speaking of which, my subwoofer would still be from Z2300. Do you figure Rokit's bass would be better than Z2300's even though the Rokits are Rokit5s? I know one day I will have a decent subwoofer, so eventually I just plug the RCA cables from Rokit to subwoofer, subwoofer to sound card.

Thanks.