The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
What should raw guitar sound like?
Old 16th October 2013
Here for the gear

What should raw guitar sound like?

Hello! I'm a live sound engineer of 2 years, trained at an audio engineering tech school, so I have a good foundation, but of course extremely green.

I've recently started building a home studio for my own music, nothing special. And after tracking one of my songs I've found myself unimpressed with the quality. And I do not know if it's the quality of the raw guitar recordings that's so poor, as well as a bad mix, or if the recording is fine and the mix is just terrible haha.

I'm hoping to get some feedback and mixing critique. For the most part I have a general idea of what I want the mixed guitar track to sound like, but I'm unaware of what a good starting point is when recording, and what sound I should be expecting from a raw guitar track that can sound fantastic with good ears and mixing.

What I'm recording is hard-rock/modern-rock. Punchy, heavy, and aggressive.

To record guitar I have an sm57 going into an mbox 3 into Pro Tools 10. KRK Rokit 6" monitors.

I've attached a short clip of the raw guitar, tell me what you think of it's quality. I recorded it with an on-axis sm57, about 2 feet away from a 2x10 cabinet, about 1 inch off dead center between both speakers. Cone level of speakers.

I'll also attach the roughly mixed song for you to reference, to get an idea of what I'm going for to help influence your advice. Any and all critique is welcome, iron sharpens iron.

I appreciate it a lot.
Attached Files

raw guitar track.mp3 (1.16 MB, 1385 views)

Old 17th October 2013
Gear Addict

Hi!

The raw guitar sound you captured has reasonable tone. It's a good starting point, but it has a fair amount of bass in it. I suggest highpassing it at 80 or 100Hz to help clean that up a little (will help bring it into focus, and will clarify your mix).