The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Which mic and premap for recording acoustic guitar?
Old 16th October 2013
Here for the gear

Which mic and premap for recording acoustic guitar?

Hi all

I'm a little bewildered at the minute trying to figure out what amp and preamp to buy to record acousstic guitar. I've done a fair bit of googling and of course ended up at your slutty forum.

Now, I'm a newbie, and have only been playing for a year. I have a fairly basic guitar - Yamaham F310, though I think it sounds nice enough. I have a echo mia midi soundcard which has: 2 balanced ¼" analog inputs with 106dB (A-weighted) dynamic range.

Mic: two names have cropped up so far: Oktava MK 012 or Rode NT1-A. Though I recently read some threads on here slating the latter quite a lot.

Quite a few people seem to suggest the Art Tube Mp Studio preamp.

How do I know what will work well together?
What would be a good comination for my small budget?
Would it better to buy two cheaper mics than one better one?

I don't want to develop an audiophile obsession about this, I just want a relatively nice sounding recording for my money.

Thanks very much
Old 16th October 2013
There are literally thousands of mic and mic pre combinations that can do a reasonable job of recording an acoustic guitar. What's best for you and within you budget is entirely a "personal taste" decision. There are also other factors such as recording technique and room acoustics/treatment that can influence the choice of mics.

The mics you mentioned are both fine as is the ART mic pre, but there are many, many more that will work well, and might be better suited to your playing style and taste.