The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Stupid Question about using a rack ?>£$%
Old 15th October 2013
Gear Nut

Stupid Question about using a rack ?>£$%

Hi all,

A quick and possibly stupid question about using a rack for outboard gear -

I've just purchased a flight case with a rack strip on either side.

It's 4u and I want to install 3u and to leave one to keep them cool.

The one at the bottom of the rack seems secure. My question is about the spaces above.

Do the units just attach to the rack strips on either side and then support their own weight?

Or, is some sort of tray included to support the weight?

These things are pretty heavy. Will they bend/snap without additional support?

Sorry if the answer is obvious - I'm new to outboard gear.

Thank you
Old 15th October 2013
The faceplate is designed to support the weight. They do t need any tray.
Old 15th October 2013
Gear Nut

Wow. I'm surprised.

Good to know. Thank you

And do you just place one directly on top of the other?
Old 15th October 2013
Lives for gear

That's not actually always true. You are talking regular mechanical engineering here.
Use common sense. Something that weighs 50 Lbs might bend the rails etc and especially if the rack gets a hit.

What I do is use blocks of high density foam to buffer the spaces and reduce shock if the rack is bumped or dropped. Just put them near the back corners. Cut them so they are nice and snug.

I always start at the bottom with the biggest, deepest unit if possible and build upwards.
Otherwise it's hard to read the back panel.