The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Hoping For Some Help Getting Started
Old 15th October 2013
Gear Head

Hoping For Some Help Getting Started

Hey, everyone.

New to the forum. Hoping for some help.

I've been out of the music scene for a while now, disenchanted with most of what I've heard since about 2000. However, some of the newer electro-pop (hope that's the right genre term) have re-energized a dormant love of music--so much so that I've become very motivated to start making music again. Some of my recent inspirations include the following:

Passion Pit
Empire of the Sun
Two Door Cinema
Niki and the Dove
Kavinsky
Royksopp
Metric
Lights
Chromatics
Glass Candy
CutCopy
M83
Inception/Michael Clayton/Last Samurai/The Fountain/Solaris/Oblivion soundtracks

Back when I was a college student I played in various alternative rock bands. I became proficient on the bass guitar but also dabbled with electric guitar and drums as well. I'm kind of stuck as far as how to proceed next: I'm not sure whether I should look into purchasing analog, digital, or a combination of both kinds of equipment.

I'm interested in trying my hand at producing music at home, but I ultimately wouldn't be happy performing music behind a solely digital setup (like Chvrches or something). I have my eye on a set of electronic drums, a miniKorg, and one of those Kossilators. Then again, I've also been looking at some DAWs like ProLogic, Ableton, etc.

Should I put together a collection of hardware (I currently own an electric and acoustic guitar) to record on or stick to a simple DAW program alone to cut my teeth on? Are there some free and relatively simple DAWS to be download on the net?

I probably don't even know the correct questions to even ask at this point, but I'm hoping many of you will help point me in the correct direction through a little prodding.

TIA for any help.

FWIW, I'm on a pc laptop.
Old 15th October 2013