The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
First time I've ever sampled a snare/feedback/Free Samples
Old 10th February 2012

First time I've ever sampled a snare/feedback/Free Samples

I was contacted by a plugin company (name withheld) thats working on a drum sampler for the pro tools platform. They asked me to beta test it and I jumped right on that! I love this new plugin. Anyway, it inspired me to sample my actual snare at home, which I have never done before. I had some old sessions with this snare on it that had ring in the snare, which ruined the takes for me. I brought the snare up to my room and resampled it. When I tracked it with the kit, the mic was closer to parallel with the snare, which is why the ring was so prevalent (I believe), so I recaptured it with the 57 (better mic than what I used on it before) closer to perpendicular to the snare. There's still a TAD bit of ring in there, but NOTHING like before. Either way, I want some feedback on the samples. They probably suck in general because the snare isn't that great and the head is old as eff. I did 18 hits. 2 ghosts, 4 softs, 4 mediums, 4 louds, and 4 cracks. Multiple hits for each velocity for the round robin. Theres 3 other hits in there I think called "Additional..." I didn't use those, but just didn't want to delete them. I figured 5 velocity levels and 4 hits for most of them would be good enough.

Download them and use them to your liking on anything. I downloaded some awesome snare samples for the sessions with the crappy snare in it, but ever time I used it, I felt weird, so I had to make my own samples with the same snare and make them better.

Also, I didn't EQ or compress any of them. I want to keep them raw and only eq and compress them per session, because I dont always use the same eq and comp.

Download the samples
Give me some feedback if possible