The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Recording exhaust notes
Old 16th September 2011
Here for the gear

Recording exhaust notes

First, to clear a few things up. My knowledge of sound engineering and gear is very, very limited. I'm basically a noob.

I'm looking for advice on how I can set up my future rig for said purpose, and also what components I should choose for my budget.

What I'm looking to do is be able to record automotive/bike exhaust notes. This will strictly be for hobbyist/enthusiast purposes and will not see any professional use outside of the internet realm. Mainly youtube/vimeo and the like. Please keep a reasonable budget in mind. I'm not looking to spend more than $400 on the mic. Most of the videos will be of louder, modified exhausts, so the mic needs to be able to handle loud volumes.

The setup needs to be able capture the tone and details that you hear in person. I'm not sure how realistic this is, but it does need to be better than most of the stuff online that's usually recorded with the on-board mics. I don't want a mic that overboosts the lows, just one that is accurate and easy to use consistently. I don't have much experience with settings and gains, so maybe a setup with AGC will work in my favor?

Also, by consistency what I mean is that I will be recording the same car, but with various different exhaust systems installed on the car and I need the setup to be consistent in a way where the spotlight is on the change of the exhaust note itself, and not so much the other factors.