The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Mastering for ultimate newbie. (first post) Dynamics Plugins
Old 13th September 2011
Here for the gear

Mastering for ultimate newbie. (first post)

I'm really new to the audio world and I'm having trouble with mastering my tracks. I started with ableton live and switched to FL studio after 4 months and am liking the layout better. I use only the DAW and a midi keyboard to make progressive/ some electro house. Again, I'm still really new to this stuff. The problem I'm having is that my tracks waveforms are really small looking and just weak sounding overall. I tried using Maximus or other mastering plugins but it just makes it sound like I turned it up really loud. (no dynamic range). I really have no idea where to start with mastering and would like to make my tracks sound professional. I really like the sound of pryda, alesso, avicii and especially deadmau5. Any help in lamans terms would be greatly appreciated
Old 13th September 2011
Here for the gear

Hi Hyaler.

Like yourself, I'm a newbie. No doubt some more experienced people will be able to help you out with actual specifics, but I thought I would mention a book which I'm finding really helpful. It's called "Guerrilla Home Recording: How To Get Great Sound From Any Studio" by Karl Coryat. It's a nice introductory/beginner book, and he talks you through recording and mastering basics, no matter what setup you're using. x

Guerilla Home Recording: How to Get Great Sound from Any Studio - No Matter How Weird or Cheap Your Gear Is Hal Leonard Music Pro Guides: Amazon.co.uk: Karl Coryat: Books
Old 13th September 2011
Lives for gear

First of all: you are talking about mixing your tracks not mastering.
Mastering is done once the mix is finished and puts the finishing touches on a project making it ready for duplication.