The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Missing Anything? Keyboard Workstations
Old 10th September 2011
Here for the gear

Missing Anything?

Hi guys,

I am new to this whole music making and I have a really hard time starting something if I have to stop later on due to lack of materials. I'm not looking to have all of the equipment out there, I would just like to know if I have the basic equipment needed to make music made by artists such as Kanye West, J.R. Rotem, Scott Storch, Dr. Dre, Lex Luger, just to name a few. I know everyone has different equipment and that is why I am starting this new thread because I know probably no one has the same set up that I do. Anyways, here are the starter equipment that I own:

Yamaha YPG-235 (electronic keyboard)
Beats by Dre headphones
Logic Studio
Share Popper Stopper
Macbook Pro
GarageBand
Cakewalk by Roland UA-25 EX (24-bit/96 KHz USB Audio Capture)
Akai MPC 500
A couple of microphone cables and other cables to connect things here and there.

I was wondering if I would need a MIDI keyboard or if the Yamaha would suffice? Please let me know if there is anything that I NEED to make music like the aforementioned artists or if what I currently have is enough.

Thanks in advance for the feedback!
Old 10th September 2011
Lives for gear

Your keyboard is likely already a MIDI Keyboard..just use a midi cable or midi to USB cable to your computer. Then you can open Logic, open virtual instruments, and write music..while listening on the headphones.

You may want an interface to use mics with and hook up monitor speakers.
Old 10th September 2011

microphones
monitors (speakers)

matt
Old 10th September 2011
Lives for gear