The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
I'm really new to everything, to be honest
Old 8th September 2011
Here for the gear

I'm really new to everything, to be honest

I would like to know that basics to the most basic of things. I've been trying to read through some of these posts to understand things but they really dont make sense to me. So...
What is a pre-amp?
How can one Interface be better than another? I thought the point was only to translate the external things into the digital world of a computer so it can be modified by maybe a pre-amp?
If its not too much trouble I'd like these explained to me, if you use technical terms please dumb them down after or point out examples so ill understand it better.
Note : ive been playing music for 5 years and decided i'd like to learn to record.
Old 8th September 2011
Ill try to help, and be as simple as possible.

A preamp is a preamplifier, most of the time when the term is used around here, it is used in the context of a microphone preamplifier.

There are other kinds of preamps, some are used for instrument level signals, and some are for what is referred to as "line level" as well.

The preamplifiers job, is to raise a low signal level, to a more workable, and manageable higher level. In short, it amplifies a small level, and outputs a larger one, mostly so that it can be "sent" to other devices in a studio or broadcast environment. These devices can be analog to digital converters, signal processors, other amplifiers etc.

The microphone preamp about which you are most likely asking, is needed to bring the very low signal level that a microphone puts out, up to this line level. This line level is a much more robust level, and can be sent longer distances without as much degradation, and interference.