The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tips on mixing a singer songwriter
Old 7th September 2011
Tips on mixing a singer songwriter

I haven't mixed many sparse recordings. I am going to be recording a friend of mine who does acoustic songs. I just want any tips on how to go about it as i've never done much in way of it before. What are the main type of plugins that would generally be used in acoustic recordings. It will be just his guitar and vocals. What's the best way to get the two blend together and what type of reverbs work well for this? Any help and links would be appreciated. Thank you :D
Old 7th September 2011
GMK
Gear Nut

I personally love that Ray Lamontagne sort of warm sound, Bon Hiver is sort of similar. Not as much high end as a punchy rock song, I think really shiny polished acoustic stuff sounds a bit over produced. Just me though. Cut less low end out of the guitars. You have to sue those 2 instruments to stretch accross the whole spectrum. Try some really natural verbs, convolution ones work well, but even contrary to that, a good plate can give a lovely warm thick sound. Try to use the same verb for both instruments to keep it really natural too.
that's just my 2 or 3 cents!
Old 7th September 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by GMK View Post
I personally love that Ray Lamontagne sort of warm sound, Bon Hiver is sort of similar. Not as much high end as a punchy rock song, I think really shiny polished acoustic stuff sounds a bit over produced. Just me though. Cut less low end out of the guitars. You have to sue those 2 instruments to stretch accross the whole spectrum. Try some really natural verbs, convolution ones work well, but even contrary to that, a good plate can give a lovely warm thick sound. Try to use the same verb for both instruments to keep it really natural too.
that's just my 2 or 3 cents!