The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
I need a great pair of headphones for college Studio Headphones
Old 6th September 2011
Here for the gear

I need a great pair of headphones for college

At college i am studying music and i need a great set of headphones for my composition class. We will be doing audio engineering and also working with stuff such as Logic, pro tools etc. I'm looking for headphones that will deliver great sound for what ilm needing them for. Good bass would be great also. I was hoping a set that would block out alot of noise also. I will be using these headphones within the recording studio also.
I'm only looking to spend £45 maximum and will be willing to buy second hand if i can find ones in good condition.
I think with the scenario that i require the headphones for i would be better of with studio ones?

Any suggestions?
Cheers!

(i also need an adapter for it so preferably a set of headphones that has this included)
Old 6th September 2011
Lives for gear

audio technica atm40, save up a little and get the atm50 if you can swing it. dunno what british pricing will be.
Old 6th September 2011
Here for the gear

what do you guys think about the Sony MDR-XB500 compared to the atm40?

Old 6th September 2011
Gear Head

Yes Audio Technica has a good base mod headphone for around $60.
Old 6th September 2011
Gear Addict

Audio Technica ATH-M50
Old 6th September 2011
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by mintyfreshbeats View Post
Audio Technica ATH-M50
+1 I travel with a pair in my backpack. They also quickly replaced the MDR 7506's in my studio.
Old 6th September 2011
Here for the gear

sennheiser hd series are nice. They cancel out sound pretty well and aren't too colorful. I always use them for placing instruments in my stereo field.
Old 6th September 2011
Gear Head

ATH-50

Sent using Gearslutz.com App
Old 7th September 2011