The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Do These Vocals Sound off-key? Plugin Bundles
Old 4th September 2011
Gear Addict

Do These Vocals Sound off-key?

The mix is not final at all. Just looking for some opinions outside my circle of friends. This is a project I'm working on for TBTM.
Old 5th September 2011
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by vierge99 View Post

The mix is not final at all. Just looking for some opinions outside my circle of friends. This is a project I'm working on for TBTM.
Yeah they are.....do you have autotune handy go in and manually shift them honestly melodyne would be ideal for this project and ease up on the reverb
Old 6th September 2011
Gear Addict

Yes.
Old 6th September 2011
Here for the gear

No offense meant

But it doesn't really sound like there is a key.

Then again, I'm just a drummer.

If using autotune, you'd probably have to sequence the whole melody. Normally I'd work with the singer &/or songwriter to double-check the melody and try to get a cleaner take if at all possible.

It depends on what the singer is trying to do and what he's capable of... if it's supposed to sound like then, well, hey, mission accomplished. If it's not, but dude can't sing, well, correct the pitch.
Old 6th September 2011
Gear Head

yes, Id say re-record and try to add some tone to the vocals.
Old 7th September 2011
Gear Addict

Yeah, Melodyne would help...as would some major de-essing and less reverb...ESPECIALLY post de-essing. Hurt my ears. Could use more warmth.
Old 7th September 2011
Lives for gear
Tell who ever is frying bacon in the background to stop it while you are tracking
Old 9th September 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manfrensengensen View Post
Tell who ever is frying bacon in the background to stop it while you are tracking