The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Track 'Speeding Up' Issue. Desktop Synthesizers
Old 3rd September 2011
Here for the gear

Track 'Speeding Up' Issue.

Okay, so I know I'm a total newbie to this.

This is my first time recording drums and I'm running into a strange issue. After a few hours of tracking drums, I will record a take and the drummer will play it right in time with the click. However, after I stop recording and go to play it back, the track is sped up about 2 bpm so that it is completely off from the click.

I looked into it online thinking it was something to do with latency issues, but from my understanding that would cause a track to a) lag and b) not affect the speed of the take.

I'm running my mics through a Presonus Firestudio to Logic Pro 9 on my 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo MacBook Pro. If you have an idea of what's going on or need more information about my problem/setup, let me know.

So what's going on here and how do I fix it?

Also, thanks for bearing with my stupidity.
Old 3rd September 2011
Lives for gear

Is it a consistent 2 BPM? If the track is sped up, then the BPM of the click should increase as the track plays, but if it is a consistent 2 BPM off, then that's latency. Basically the time it takes for the sound to go through the mic, pre, and conversion before being recorded into the DAW. Have you tried aligning the first beat exactly to the click?

Then again, the drummer may not be playing as close to the click as you may think.
Old 10th September 2011
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insomniaclown View Post