The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How much is protools? need new DAW Audio Interfaces
Old 2nd September 2011
Gear Head

How much is protools? need new DAW

So. I'm new to this whole music thing lately. I used to do my recording by a cheap USB microphone into Magix. Well I decided I wanted to better my sound and quality. I went out and got the MXL Genesis and the Edioral UA-25ex Preamp. It sounds amazing. But all the DAWS I have suck for recording! I have asked what programs are good for recording before and I keep getting all these different DAW'S thrown at me.. I need some recommendations. I also hear you can insert FL studio as a VST into other software?.. That would be awesome since I want to continue making my beats In FL studio until I become familiar with another program.. So if anybody could let me know some great DAW'S that are good for Vocals with some nice effects and what not cause I currently record in FL studio and it sucks! It takes to much work Mixing, Mastering and all that in FL studio and it isn't worth my time vocals wise.. So what DAW'S are good? can I link FL studio into that DAW? How does that work?

And last but not least.. How much is Pro Tools? I looked up pro tools 9.. I get priced ranges anywhere from like $100 to like $2000.. I don't know which one to get or the actual price of this damn software. Somebody help me! That would be great!
Old 2nd September 2011
Gear Head

You should be able to find ProTools 9 (full version) for somewhere around $600, and you can find it bundled with the MBox Pro for somewhere under $1000

But what I would suggest is going to YouTube and watching some tutorials on Pro Tools, Cubase, and Sonar and see which one makes the most sense to you and has the features you want before you spend the cash.

Good Luck
Old 3rd September 2011
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by cleanpants View Post