The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Recommended Vocal mic for Tenor Voice Condenser Microphones
Old 1st September 2011
Gear Head

Recommended Vocal mic for Tenor Voice

Hey Guys, I'm new to recording as I've only been doing it for a year or so and I want to start taking it more seriously rather than demos. I have an Mbox Pro 2, and a pair of Adam A5x's. I use a Rode NT-1A and have found that it really sounds very harsh (my opinion, correct if wrong) and I'm hoping you guys can help me find a mic which might work nicer than the Rode. I've been sussing out the Blue Woodpecker's but noticed they don't have much sibilance which is a good and bad thing.. because I record pop music and sometimes you want those 's's etc to stand out. Also, I've found that when I'm mixing, vocals are one instrument I can't get my head around EQ'ing. I always make the vocal too boxy, or too thin. I have a large room so it's not as if I'm recording in a very small space. P.S I've attached one of my own songs so you can check out my voice for feedback on potential mic's. The song was recording through an SSL desk with an NTK.

Thanks guys.
Attached Files

Moviestar [bottom #2#11AD91.mp3 (525.0 KB, 823 views)

Old 2nd September 2011

Always hard to say, as it's down to lots of factors like personal preference, song requirements etc.

I have found all Rode mics that I have used to be harsh and sibilancy. They might not all be, but the ones I have used are.

You could try looking at something from Mojave or Beesnees

Matt
Old 2nd September 2011
Gear Head

I think a large part of this is going to revolve around your budget. Ho much money do you want to spend?
Old 3rd September 2011
Hi there,