The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Monitor Advice/Recommendations for mini home studio
Old 29th November 2020
Here for the gear

Monitor Advice/Recommendations for mini home studio

Hello all!

I'm looking for some advice. Here's my situation:

I produce bass heavy modern hiphop.

I live in a council house with thin walls to my neighbours.

At the moment I'm thinking about getting some Micro Monitors and a very small subwoofer for the 30-40hz range.

My room is not treated so I'm looking for the best cheap setup I can buy.

I am a gear newb though and at the moment I have choice paralysis... (idk what to buy).

Would really appreciate any of your thoughts/experiences on this.

Bonus question: Would you say mixing in headphones is impossible? Because in the case that even a setup of micro monitors and small woofer would be too loud for my neighbors I don't have any choice...
Old 29th November 2020
Lives for gear

Closed Sony 7506 (Tracking/Secondary Reference Mixing) and the Semi-Open AKG 240 Studio (for initial Mixing/Reference) would be a good start.
Be prepared to do a Ton of listening to songs, along with getting them, to learn their in/outs.

Then Reference listen in the Car/Home Stereo/Cell Phone/Boombox/etc...
Chris
Old 29th November 2020 | Show parent
Here for the gear

Thanks for the reply.

Are you recommending that because I mentioned the thin walls? Because I have Audio Technica M50x's that I use for mixing at the moment...

I've read in many threads you can't mix properly in headphones at all, so I thought I'd get a small monitor setup.
Old 29th November 2020
Lives for gear

P.S.... If you "strike gold" and can afford it.... Re-do your vocals (at least) in a proper Pro Studio. And get it Mixed/Mastered there.
Chris
Here for the gear

Haha alright. Thought I'm just producing beats at this moment.

Would you say its possible to get a decent mix in headphones? And not just by accident lol.
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winnie91 View Post