The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
My journey as a struggling mixing engineer. I need advice badly.
Old 25th November 2020
Here for the gear

Hello, I've been learning how to mix and make music for about 4 years now. And I still can't figure out how to mix well. It is driving me crazy. Every time I think I learn, or understand something, it just goes in a 180 and I'm back to square one again.

I've been using FL Studio for my DAW, and have slowly been upgrading gear. I started mixing with Apple Headphones. It is just what I had around at the time and it worked well because I listened to so much music with them. My first projects sounded well. Or I just didn't know well sounded like yet... Anyway, so about a year later I started wanting to make my mixes to start sounding professionally produced and radio ready.

(There also isn't a particular style that I want to mix. I myself incorporate every genre into my music. I don't stick with one genre. So I am not limited to hip-hop engineers, or EDM artists. I kind of want to just do it all and have fun, and be able to whip up a good mix in any genre. My friend who is a singer songwriter wants me to start mixing for him. This is the main reason I'm writing this, is because I want his mixes to sound amazing, but I feel like I'm struggling.)

I bought some mixing headphones. A pair of Beyerdynamic DT770. And the day that I got them was the downfall of my entire mixing career. Everything sounded like it was from a tin can and all the music I listened to with them hurt my ears with high end and there was barely any bass or low end.