The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Best way to showcase your mix?
Old 27th October 2020
Here for the gear

Best way to showcase your mix?

Hey everyone!

I am a young Norwegian mix engineer who has been doing this for a few years now, and I've just gotten to the point where I have the confidence to finally start getting paid to mix for customers.

My problem is that I'm a bit lazy - when I finish a mix draft and would like to send it to a customer, I've been uploading the mix privately to my soundcloud account, and linking it to them. After comparing and doing some research, it's obvious that SoundCloud lowers the quality of your audio to 128kbps - not exactly ideal.

So, instead of doing the good thing, which would be to send them the full quality .wav with some dropouts in it, is there any alternative to SoundCloud I could use for this purpose, that doesn't compress my files? An online streaming service of some sort?

Thank you in advance, really happy I signed up for this forum!!

/Sivert
Old 29th October 2020
Any FTP services will do. Look at Dropbox, Hightail, and Sendspace to name a few
Old 29th October 2020
What happens if you make a contract that says that you own the work until payment is received. Like a transfer of deed. Or is there not such a thing?

Because,what is stopping someone from sending the audio out of digital into analog then re recording the sample.

I would think that Radio quality samples (soundcloud) would be good enough?
Old 29th October 2020 | Show parent
Quote:
Originally Posted by coreyspencer View Post
What happens if you make a contract that says that you own the work until payment is received. Like a transfer of deed. Or is there not such a thing?

Because,what is stopping someone from sending the audio out of digital into analog then re recording the sample.

I would think that Radio quality samples (soundcloud) would be good enough?