The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Analog with plugin software? Or one without the other?
Old 18th May 2020
Here for the gear

Analog with plugin software? Or one without the other?

So i have an art pro voice channel Compressor, EQ, De-Esser, ETC. I also have all the Fabfilter plugins. My question is should i do things on the voice channel first then make subtle tweaks in the Fabfilter plugins or should i just go dry with slight compression and a little bit of low cut from the voice channel then do the rest in the fabfilter? Or should i only use 1 of the 2? Any thoughts im not that good at the whole mixing of my own vocals but I wanna get better at it because well paying somebody is TOO EXPENSIVE
Old 18th May 2020
Gear Addict

It depends on how much you like the sound of the voice channel. It is a good unit, but it is not top-tier.

Generally speaking, unless your outboard signal processing is top-tier, you are better off doing your eq and compression in the box with quality software. If you got good at the FabFilter eq and compressor, that would put you in a much better place than the voice channel. FabFilter is high quality, and top professionals use it regularly.

Analog boxes make good learning tools. So you could practice on the voice channel for two weeks, then sell it and learn how to do the equivalent in software.
Old 18th May 2020
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by gearstudent View Post
It depends on how much you like the sound of the voice channel. It is a good unit, but it is not top-tier.

Generally speaking, unless your outboard signal processing is top-tier, you are better off doing your eq and compression in the box with quality software. If you got good at the FabFilter eq and compressor, that would put you in a much better place than the voice channel. FabFilter is high quality, and top professionals use it regularly.