The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Coming to America to study
Old 4 days ago
Here for the gear

Coming to America to study

Hi guys,
I'm moving to the U.S for a job, and they presented me with 2 locations:
Chicago or Boston.
So im in a dilemma for quiet a while now, where is musically better to move to?
I'm from the middle east, and im not planning on staying in America, i want to absorb as much as i can from the U.S music culture (Im talking from sound, and sonic stuff, all the way to why the pop in america is the pop in america)
I'm a starting music producer, producing mainly pop music, and i want to study mixing and sound design, in other words, everything that is related to production.
Be sure my portfolio isnt good enough to get a nice scholarship so i could study, so im not expecting to study for BA, im talking mostly about courses.
SO for a guy that is coming to study courses and not a BA, and to understand better the music in the place that all the world absorb culture from,
is the Boston high education better enough from Chicago's, or the Chicago music scene is strong enough for me to move to? or anything in between?
A lot of cool pop artists came from Chicago through out the years (mainly my king Kanye) so iv been wondering maybe Chicago could be a good place to study music, and not only from the college, but from the city.
Old 4 days ago
Gear Nut

Something to consider: In Boston you're a 3.5 hour train ride to New York City on the Amtrak Acela. In Chicago you're, well, in Chicago.
Old 4 days ago
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by AuldLangSine View Post
That's like going to an Ivy League school. Hard and extremely expensive. Not a reason to move there for most.

Chicago, easily. They have quality education programs in the area FYI; you don't need to go to Berklee or whatever. And your real education will be in the music scene anyway.

Just don't go into the nastier areas of the city. High crime rate, esp violent crime.
Old 3 days ago
Lives for gear