The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Looking for advice on coaxial monitor choices
Old 14th December 2019
Gear Head

Looking for advice on coaxial monitor choices

Hello GS, I'm a Berklee student who is a broke jazz player with tuition debts and worse, a gear slut. I have a pair of Dynaudio LYD-5 and EVE SC204. I use them for composing and arranging as well as occasionally mixing for fellow students. I have been very happy with their performance.

Unfortunately, I have to move next semester to a more congested apartment. So I'm considering getting rid of the two pairs and get myself a new pair of coaxial monitors due to their smaller form factors and wide sweet spots. I'm hoping that whatever I will end up with is gonna be an upgrade to my previous monitors.

So far I have eyes on KS Digital C5-Reference, APS Coax, Geithain RL 906, and possibly Fluid Audio FPX7 and Genelec The Ones. I value non-fatiguing smooth sound and sharp stereo imaging the most. Bass extension/amount is not a concern for me.

I appreciate any inputs on these monitors. Other recommendations are also very welcomed. Due to reasons stated earlier, I'd like to limit my budget to 3000 USD max (except for really great deals; not including room treatment budget).

Many thanks and have a nice end of the year!
Old 15th December 2019
Lives for gear

I think you're slightly out of touch with the rest of the world if you think having a $3,000 monitor budget is the definition of being 'broke'.
Old 15th December 2019
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quetz View Post
I think you're slightly out of touch with the rest of the world if you think having a $3,000 monitor budget is the definition of being 'broke'.
As much as I hate it, I'm still supported by my parents. I myself make little money making music. 3000 is all my saving during the years of making music. My parents already paid for my tuition, so I would only use my own money for those speakers.