The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Need mixer for a lot of synths
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Need mixer for a lot of synths

Hi, so I’ve decided to forego my computer and record my synths with only my iPad which is hooked up to an Apogee Duet (the newest one) So the Apogee has only a single stereo in .. and I have a bunch of analog synths and half a dozen 90’s digital synths. I cannot afford a digital mixer setup with that many inputs, so I was thinking maybe a new 32 channel analog board from Mackie or Soundcraft which are around US $1500.00, or I have a local shop with a Midas Venice 32 that was a floor demo. Any suggestions? I’ve been using an original USA made Mackie CR1604 for 28 years now and it sounds great .. just not enough channels. Thanks
Old 2 weeks ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloudswimmer View Post
Hi, so I’ve decided to forego my computer and record my synths with only my iPad which is hooked up to an Apogee Duet (the newest one) So the Apogee has only a single stereo in .. and I have a bunch of analog synths and half a dozen 90’s digital synths. I cannot afford a digital mixer setup with that many inputs, so I was thinking maybe a new 32 channel analog board from Mackie or Soundcraft which are around US $1500.00, or I have a local shop with a Midas Venice 32 that was a floor demo. Any suggestions? I’ve been using an original USA made Mackie CR1604 for 28 years now and it sounds great .. just not enough channels. Thanks
I have a similar configuration, and did for years: several synths going into a mixer, with the stereo outs going into my audio interface. This worked fine, but once I moved to an audio interface with 6 inputs, I was able to record more synth tracks at once (instead of one synth at a time), and I was able to use the inputs and outputs of the interface with external effects boxes.