The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
XLR cable lengths?
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

XLR cable lengths?

For Christmas, I want to get my boyfriend the Shure SM7B Cardioid Dynamic Microphone, Focusrite Scarlett Solo (3rd Gen) USB Audio Interface, Cloudlifter CL-1, and the Rode PSA1 boom arm.

This is our first venture into XLR microphones and all these extra gadgets. We've only ever used the Blue Yeti, but, a friend of mine let me play around on the Shure SM7B and I was so in love with it. I realize it has all these extra steps and I'm totally cool with buying extra things and making it work, but...

The thing I'm hung up on is freaking XLR cable lengths.

Please don't make fun of me, this is legitimately stressing me out.

I guess since it's my first time dealing with audio cables of this magnitude, all the Youtubers and Reddit users who recommend 15' kind of puzzle me because 15' seems huge.

We're just going to be using his small 120 square foot spare room and using a standard sized computer desk. His audio interface and the cloudlifter will all be on the same desk.

I'm assuming that since the boom arm takes up quite a bit of XLR cable length to wrap around, that 6' or 10' would be best. I'm aiming towards 6' but when I asked Reddit, they all told me to go for 10', 15', 20' which left me even more confused.

I'm assuming the second XLR cable that's going to go from my Focusrite Scarlett into the Cloudlifter CL-1 can be shorter because there's no giant arm to wrap itself around and the distance between the two doesn't have to be so vast, so, I was thinking a 2' or 3' XLR cable would do the trick for that, but, I have no idea how off base I am with my logic or lack thereof.