The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Patchbay advice
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Maniac
Patchbay advice

I'm eyeing the Samson S patchbay as I've acquired two compressors, two eqs and and some other outboard gear. When mixing, I assume each piece of outboard gear is individually patched into the patchbay, and the chain is created within the patchbay? Or does the outboard gear go first into the interface and then out to the patchbay? I've never used a patchbay before so any advice before I buy is always appreciated. Thanks!
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by blotto View Post
I'm eyeing the Samson S patchbay as I've acquired two compressors, two eqs and and some other outboard gear. When mixing, I assume each piece of outboard gear is individually patched into the patchbay, and the chain is created within the patchbay? Or does the outboard gear go first into the interface and then out to the patchbay? I've never used a patchbay before so any advice before I buy is always appreciated. Thanks!
Your initial instinct is correct. The patchbay is what you use to reroute your signal.
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Maniac
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreshProduce View Post
Your initial instinct is correct. The patchbay is what you use to reroute your signal.
I also have to ask, is it usually sent back to the ADC as two channels for stereo (or if mono, one channel)?? This part confuses me as I have 8 inputs on my interface. Thanks again.
Old 2 weeks ago
When I was using a TRS patchbay, the only one that worked well for me long term was the dbx...YMMV.
Old 2 weeks ago
Quote:
I also have to ask, is it usually sent back to the ADC as two channels for stereo (or if mono, one channel)?? This part confuses me as I have 8 inputs on my interface. Thanks again.
Pick two of your 8 channels to be your inputs and patch them to the patchbay. Say, 1 for left and 2 for right. Then just record enable one of them for mono or both for stereo.