The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Why do my synths sound way better on headphones than through audio interface?
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Why do my synths sound way better on headphones than through audio interface?

Hello all - I am somewhat new to this, so I thought I would tap into the GearSlutz hive mind for some advice:

In brief: Whenever I listen to my analogue synthesizers directly through the headphone out jack they sound awesome. Whenever I listen to the synths through the monitor out/headphone jack of my audio interface, the sound is less colorful and not as rich (this then translates to lower 'quality' sound recorded through my DAW). What's going on?

Synths: Korg Monologue & Korg Minilogue xd (both analogue)
Interface: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 2nd Gen, powered/connected to laptop through USB
Connections: I connect the xd synth from the mono/L output (is this right?) to the interface input with a 1/4" TRS. I connect the monologue in the same way, though from its single TRS output. Toggling the INST/LINE knob on the interface does not seem to make much of a difference in sound quality, though it does impact the gain (which is expected, I think). I usually connect the synths through INST for recording through my DAW - is this right?
Cables: Audio2000s 1/4" TRS audio cables (3 ft)
Laptop: MacBook Pro late 2015, LogicPro X. Given that the sound quality seems to be lost after/in the audio interface (since I can hear the loss when I listen through the interface monitor), I do not think that the computer is the issue here, right?