The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Synth Background Noise
Old 6th November 2019
Here for the gear

Synth Background Noise

I am new to the world of hardware synths and I recently bought an MFB Dominion 1. However, when I get it all plugged in and fire up Ableton, I notice there is some consistent background noise coming from that channel. Is this normal? It's just a low level, fluctuating static type noise.

I've got the synth hooked up to my Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 with a Mogami Pure Patch PP-06 cable. It is audible on my speakers/headphones and it registers on the level in the mixer as random fluctuations. It stops as soon as I shut the synth off. It is not super loud and is drowned out when the synth is actually played, but it is definitely noticeable otherwise.

Any thoughts on this? I just need to figure out if the synth is defective in some way or if this is just the way things are with actual hardware synths.
Old 7th November 2019
Quote:
am new to the world of hardware synths and I recently bought an MFB Dominion 1. However, when I get it all plugged in and fire up Ableton, I notice there is some consistent background noise coming from that channel. Is this normal? It's just a low level, fluctuating static type noise.
No, static noise is not normal.
Is your electrical grid in your studio grounded?
Have you tried another wall wart on a different circuit?
Do you have balanced cables connected to your studio monitors?
Are there electrical cables near any of your audio cables?
Quote:
I've got the synth hooked up to my Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 with a Mogami Pure Patch PP-06 cable. It is audible on my speakers/headphones and it registers on the level in the mixer as random fluctuations. It stops as soon as I shut the synth off.
The first thing i would have done is try another wall wart on a different circuit. So try that first.
Old 10th November 2019
Gear Guru

Well, just how loud is it? All electronics has some level of self-noise, no? So, is it really unreasonably loud?