The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Classical Guitar recording for CD
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Classical Guitar recording for CD

Hi all,

This is my first time posting here. I've been reading and learning a lot from all of you, so thank you for that! I'm hoping to make my first CD soon, and finally testing all the gears+rooms. I'm planning to record everything myself, then take the project to someone else to edit and master.

Could somebody be so kind to give me some feedback on this recording? It was a quick test so please excuse my playing. I'm not sure if it has a "good enough" quality for a professional recording. Recorded in a Recital Hall, a bit dry but quiet, with a pair of AB stereo Beyerdynamic MC-930. It is a raw file without any editing. Any feedback would be much appreciated. Thank you so much in advance.
Attached Files

Guitar Test.mp3 (2.06 MB, 315 views)

Old 4 weeks ago
It is mono. That is problem no.1. Can you fix and repost?
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by rumleymusic View Post
It is mono. That is problem no.1. Can you fix and repost?
Thank you for your reply! I thought it is in Stereo already.. How about now? I joined the 2 tracks (mic) in stereo and bounced it. Is there something I'm missing?
Attached Files

Guitar Test3_1.wav (14.83 MB, 310 views)

Old 4 weeks ago
At least in my headphones, the file is still mono. Are you certain the two microphones were panned left and right and the output/ bounce settings are set to output a stereo file?
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Quote:
At least in my headphones, the file is still mono. Are you certain the two microphones were panned left and right and the output/ bounce settings are set to output a stereo file?
That is so strange, yes I am certain they were panned left+right and bounced in stereo. The file looks like this in Logic (I cut the 2nd half out).
Attached Thumbnails
Classical Guitar recording for CD-screen-shot.png  
Old 4 weeks ago