The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Consistently Harsh Vocal tone (NOT SIBILANCE), help please?
Old 31st October 2019
Here for the gear

Smile Consistently Harsh Vocal tone (NOT SIBILANCE), help please?

Hello

To preface this i wanna be clear that i've been mixing for around 8 years but i'm aware that, as we say in egypt, "el leiba di malhash kebeer", roughly translating to "this game knows no masters" hahahaha -- i still have a lot to learn

Having said that, i'm mixing professionally now, making a living, etc..
Despite this, i am noticing that when mixing and mastering pop / hip pop songs that require lots of compression and limiting in the mastering phase, i get this insanely buzzy, almost inside my head sound in my vocals, and its never ever sibilance, that is well controlled using multiple stages of de-essing and multiband compression in some instances

It is just a broadband harshness accross the entire 2k - 15k region ... there is no cutting i can apply that can fix it, its like i have clipped this region or something, but i've made sure i haven't. It is particularly bad on vowel sounds (aaah, eeeeee's are very very harsh)

When i turn up my mixes to 60 (full volume) in my car, the vocals are absolutely unbearable. On other systems like apple earphones, imac speakers, my monitors, and bose speakers (my checkers), they sound more tolerable but still not sheen-y and smoothe and buttery like pop productions.