The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Need help with choosing the right gear
Old 7th October 2019
Here for the gear

Need help with choosing the right gear

Hello,

I'm a total newbie and I guess that to the most of you my questions will be easy and stupid, but I'm in a serious trouble to find what gear do I really need and what to actually research and look up for. For the past three days I'm reading stuff and searching forums, but I can't find the information I need. Also sorry in advance, but I'm not 100% sure that this post should be in this forum.

My home setup will be used only for music listening and watching stuff. I currently don't have plans on recording or producing anything. I've bought the Mackies MR624 active studio monitors and currently I have them connected via RCA cables + RCA to 3.5mm mini jack directly in my desktop windows PC, which I feel is not the best possible solution - I get buzzes and crackles when I use the scroll wheel on the mouse and etc, which if my research was right I can solve with using balanced connections (XLR/TRS), which the Mackies have. Also, I briefly used them connected to an USB DJ Controller (NI Kontrol S2 MK3) via RCA cables, and I liked the sound better that way, I guess because the integrated DAC was better than the one in my PC. I also have a pair of ATH-M40x headphones, which I love. I'm planning on getting a turntable and join the vinyl hype, I've even already bought and own some decks which I cannot wait to listen to.