The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Connection confusion. Noob here. Please help
Old 29th September 2019
Gear Head

Connection confusion. Noob here. Please help

Hi all, iam an old member here but a noob to home recording. I have been a musician and just now setting up home studio.

My equipments

.1. PC with Maudio audiophile 2496 ( 2I/2O) internal soundcard connected to PCI slot in my PC with cubase
2. Yamaha Mg10xu 10 channel mixer stereo output of which i have connected to my MAudio 2496 soundcard as input (RCA)
2. Motif XF6 synth which acts as my midi vsti instruments trigger/ Cubase controller through Direct USB to PC and also have connected the audio out to my yamaha mixer to record onboard sounds
3. Yamaha PSR 2000 connected to my mixer to record audio
4. The output from my computer is fed to my SM audio nano patch passive volume controller, and its output is connected to a pair of Yamaha HS80M studio monitors
5 Audio technica at2035 condenser mic connected to XLR input of mixer

I face a few problems

1. Since i have an soundcard connected to my computer, i have to boot up my computer each time to even hear the audio in monitor if i play my keyboards. If i connect my monitor to my mixer directly there is a problem, the tracks created with VSTi in cubase as a part of mix will not come as output to monitor. I dont know if i can connect the output from soundcard to my mixer? If so where? As an input in one of the channels? Would that not mean it will go back to computer for processing again as my mixer output goes back to daw

2. When i record vocal tracks it also outputs realtime to my monitors. I dont have a separate vocal booth. So how to route this connection too in such a way that i can cut off the monitor to preven bleed.?

3. I also need to feed click tracks or backing tracks to singers through in ear monitor. How to do it.

Experts here kindly advice. Im in a fix.

Below is a Line drawing of the connections