The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
5.1 surround set-up
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear

5.1 surround set-up

Hello
I am a total newbie in surround mixing and I have a few questions regarding 5.1 surround set-up in my future studio:

1. What audio interface should I choose? I want to be able to switch fast between stereo and surround. There will be 5 speakers and a sub for surround and other 2 speakers for stereo and I want to be able to switch between stereo and surround. Also I want to be able to have headphones too connected.

2. Do I need to connect 2 audio interfaces and switch between them in my DAW (surround and stereo)? Is this a better option for my problem?

3. Also is this a good choise for my surround set-up and stereo set-up:
- 5*Adam Audio T7V + Adam Audio Sub8 - surround set-up
- 2*Adam Audio A7X - stereo set-up

I know there are a few questions to be answered but I need to start buying and I want to be sure I don't do this wrong.

Thank you!
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Addict

I single audio interface will work if you select properly.
You don't need to have separate stereo and 5.1 monitors if you select a proper monitor controller.

The first thing to consider in your planning stages is to set a budget for your components.
Start there.
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by EduardGore View Post
Hello
I am a total newbie in surround mixing and I have a few questions regarding 5.1 surround set-up in my future studio:

1. What audio interface should I choose? I want to be able to switch fast between stereo and surround. There will be 5 speakers and a sub for surround and other 2 speakers for stereo and I want to be able to switch between stereo and surround. Also I want to be able to have headphones too connected.
Like David wrote, it would be good if you gave people a budget. Without a budget the sky's the limit.