The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
room mics vs OH mics placement
Old 22nd September 2019
Gear Head

room mics vs OH mics placement

Hi guys,

I am new to drums recording and have a question regarding placement of room mics in relationship to my overhead mics.

As you can see on this cartoon, I am going to use a spaced pair configuration for my overhead mics and also want to use a spaced pair configuration for my room mics. With my overheads mics, I want to center the kick and snare as you can see on the cartoon. However, I am wondering whether I should use version 1 of the cartoon for my room mics or version 2.
I feel like version 1 will "kill" the centering of the kick and snare in the stereo image while version 2 will keep the centering just fine, but I am not sure what will give me the best results. I do not have access to the room for a week to test it, and would like to know what you think.

Thanks !
Attached Thumbnails
room mics vs OH mics placement-room-oh-mics.jpg  
Old 22nd September 2019
Lives for gear

if there are 2 cymbals on 1 side i place my over bet the 2..listen to the song being played and adjust if necessary to get a good blend bet the 2

plus i sometimes use 2 sets of room mikes..one set 8 foot or more over the snare and fl tom the other 10-14 foot from kit and at middle of rack tom height
Old 24th September 2019
Gear Head

Thanks !

Anybody else has a thought on this ?

Thanks
Old 24th September 2019
Gear Nut

It's probably not going to matter much depending on how far away your room mics are. Try it and see which one you like better.
Old 25th September 2019
Gear Maniac
Have you thought about using an LDC with an omni setting and doing a mono room mic. If you have good overhead placement your stereo image should stay intact just fine and just blend in the mono room for the drum tone.
Old 25th September 2019
Lives for gear